Copy & Paste

Hey everyone,

I just had a circuit break on me after using copy&paste from within the editor.

More precisely, I united two working circuits into one schematic. The transition from one build view into the other felt smooth, but the resulting circuit cannot be simulated anymore.

Message within the editor: TypeError: string is not a function.

I'm new to circuitlab, but searching returned nothing on this one.

Any help is appreciated,

Sebastian.

by sek
March 06, 2012

Hmkay, seems like I solved it by debugging in three different browsers.

Chrome throws the above error message.

Firefox deviates by stating that 'b' is not a function.

Safari solves it by stating: 'R10' is not a function (evaluating 'b(NaN)').

And then I saw it: the editor did automatically rename every single component - except R10, it does exist twice. ;)

Still, two issues here: the error in the renaming/pasting algorithm and the confusing browser messages.

Cheers, Sebastian.

by sek
March 06, 2012

Hi sek,

Thanks for reporting this. In order to better help me track down the bug, could you point me to the two different circuits you copied from. I'm having trouble recreating the bug.

by hevans
March 06, 2012

Thanks for the reply.

I tried to paste this one:

into that one:

I've just tried again, it seems to be reproducible. R1 from the pasted circuit became renamed to R10 without it's existing R10 being renamed, too.

Thanks for looking into it,

Sebastian.

by sek
March 07, 2012

Hi sek,

It looks like neither of those circuits is public, so I can't get to them. If you could make them public I'd like to look into this issue.

by hevans
March 07, 2012

Done. Although I would have thought that you guys at CircuitLab would have other means to get into a circuit. ;)

I've applied changes to the circuits in the meantime, though. Thus the outcome might be different with the current versions.