Inverting OpAmp, Strange Results

Hi All. I just started playing around with Circuit Lab and put together an inverting OpAmp circuit. The simulation shows it working properly. It uses an LM741 OpAmp with matched resistors. With a 5V- input to the inverting OpAmp input, I should be seeing 5V+ on the output. I'm seeing that in simulation, but on the breadboard, I'm seeing exactly 28V+. The link for the project is below. I'd be eteranlly grateful if someone with more knowledge of analog circuits could shed some light.

Thanks in advance...

by rrc1962
October 02, 2013

Thanks very much for the great info. Every circuit example I came across showed a bipolar power supply to the 741, but when I saw it working in simulation I thought maybe I got lucky. Not having a bipolar power supply on hand, I tried a positive PS. I had a feeling the problem was related to that.

I'll also look into the other software you suggested. More accurate modeling would be nice.

Thanks again....

by rrc1962
October 02, 2013

Just out of curiosity...How would you go about creating a +-15V supply from a 18VDC? I was looking at something like this....

http://www.mouser.com/Search/ProductDetail.aspx?R=RB-1515Dvirtualkey56830000virtualkey919-RB-1515D

or this...But this one is expensive....

http://www.mouser.com/Search/ProductDetail.aspx?R=ASA00CC18-Lvirtualkey54040000virtualkey826-ASA00CC18-L

by rrc1962
October 02, 2013

@rrc1962,

Rather than go to the trouble of buying or building a split supply, you can run any opamp off a single supply but you have to create a local bias supply that, to the opamp, looks like a split supply.

Here's one way to do it:

by signality
October 03, 2013